Ok we all figured when Pineda went to the DL they would be carrying one of the young guys in the bull pen as the long man and inserting Garcia into the rotation. David Phelps had an outstanding spring and I’m happy he will get a chance to break camp with the Yankees even if its for an abbreviated stay.

They Big surprise in my mind was the Yankees trading Kontos to the Giants for Chris Stewart as the back-up catcher. This means that Cervelli will start the season in AAA and obviously is disappointed.

Clay Rapada will be with the team as the second lefty out of the pen. A job that was probably going to Cesar Cabrel before he fractured his elbow. Don’t be to surprised if you see him in pinstripes before the season is over.

So for now the roster is set. Jeter will get an early day off on Saturday in favor or Nunez. Part of a season long plan to get Jeter and A rod some DH time against lefties.

For me one of the disappointments was designating Maxwell for assignment. I get that there isn’t a spot for him but some part of me would rather see him on the roster than Ibanez, who until late in the spring has looked slow with the bat. Lets just hope that’s a little rust he needs to shake off because of his age. I’m sure someone will claim him, but if not I look forward to seeing him play on the empire state Yankees whom I will be covering a lot this year with all of their home games being on the road and me living so close to Rochester and Syracuse.

