Andrew Bailey

The American League and National League handed out their Rookie of the Year awards today. The awards were given to Andrew Bailey of the Oakland Athletics and left fielder Chris Coghlan in the National League. You can read all about it by clicking on the above link. I however am going to take a look at the people who I thought should have gotten the award.

Coghlan batted .321 with nine home runs and thirty one doubles in 128 games. That is worth a Rookie of the Year award if you ask me. However, JA Happ, who placed second had an outstanding season. He anchored a shaky Phillies lineup and helped propel his team into the playoffs. Happ was 12-4 with a 2.93 ERA. He also fanned 119 during the course of the year. Both guys are deserving but if I had a vote which I don’t I would have voted for Happ. Being on a winning team is a big deal for me as well.

Let’s switch gears to the American League, Andrew Bailey took home the trophy but who else was worthy? Elvis Andrus (Mike Rook’s personal fav) was a defensive giant and if not for Derek Jeter could have easily taken home the Gold Glove. In 145 games Andrus batted .267 with six dingers and 40 RBI. He also pitched in and scored 72 runs. Oh yeah he swiped 33 bags. He came in second in the ROY running. I like Gordan Beckham myself. Beckham was a stand out third baseman for the White Sox. He also pitched in at the plate may I add. He batted .270 with 14 homeruns and 63 RBI. He also slugged .460. Impressive to say the least. Ozzie Guillen says that Beckham is their third baseman of the future and I agree. I also think he should have gotten more consideration for ROY.

More awards will be handed out in the following week including AL and NL MVP’s next week. Stay tuned!

By Michael “Genevosey” Genovese

Digg This
